swapping chairs on the titanic

hi everyone,

my hope for all of us is that this summer is finds us all in a place of healing, of rest, and of hope.

I found some SAA (sex addicts anonymous) literature lying around the house, and there was a piece that really caught my eye- it was talking about the flip side of sex addiction, which is sexual anorexia. The article went on to say “going from acting out as a sex addict to acting in as a sexual anorexic is like swapping chairs on the titanic.

Made me think.

I have numerous seats on the titanic that are available to me at any given time- overspending, overeating, restrictive eating, overexercising, masturbation, complete shut down of anything and everything sexual, isolating, or losing myself for hours in the endless void that is the internet. Just to name a few.

If my sexually addicted partner has his seat booked, it is important that I know how many tickets I’m holding so I don’t go down with the ship.

Today we are both wearing life vests and are bobbing in life boats on a brief and much appreciated sea of temporary calm.

Incidentally, I never understood the end of Titanic. Why would they try to share that door? Or why not just take turns? Or find another door to lay on? Either way, it’s a great picture of how I can operate as a partner of a sex addict, hanging on in the freezing water to HIS door. Much better to find my own so we can hang on side by side.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dakota
    Jun 11, 2014 @ 21:06:54

    I am a partner – about to go through disclosure after a year. I was comforted to find you on the internet… Is there any advice or help you can offer? Any ideas on how to handle triggers? Can you help me understand “side by side?”

    Reply

  2. rmarierun
    Jul 02, 2014 @ 16:09:08

    This is really really good! It is so easy to run to one addiction to counter act another when they both just make you eventually sink! Such a good reminder! :-) Your awesome girl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

